Skip to content

Tumbleweeds

March 3, 2011

This is what happens if I don’t sweep my floors two days in a row.

These “tumbleweeds” gather around by the baseboards if I don’t sweep for 2 days.  And these are not the result of me sweeping a bunch of hair into a pile….oh no!  This grotesque mass formed all on it’s own from the loose hairs my shedding dogs have so abundantly supplied.  Kaylee especially is blowing her coat in preparation for the warmer weather, so much so that I can literally pull handfuls of fur out without any trouble.  The Saints shed year round, but twice a year they REALLY shed!  So I warn you, before you get a dog with a long coat, ask yourself if the above picture is really what you want to deal with on a daily basis.  The drool is another factor, but we’ll save that for another time.

After I’ve swept all the hair up into a nice HUGE pile, guess what always happens…

That’s right…..Lazarus lays in it!  He does this without fail whenever I sweep!  Even while I’m sweeping he’ll lay down right in the path of my broom.  It’s gotten so consistent that I have to lock him in the laundry room whenever I want to sweep.

Then he rolls around in it.

Oh yah, buddy!  Cuddle that hair!  Maybe he thinks it’s his long lost brother coming back to play with him?

All I know is that he loves that hair pile, and that he’ll always be willing to help me clean it up……or not.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Pentland permalink
    March 3, 2011 10:29 pm

    THAT IS A RIOT!!!! LOVE YOUR VOCALIZING HIS THOUGHTS!! LOL

    Hey, you should get the motorized robot that Sharon Riddle has. It is programmed to go on every day at a certain time. It will work its way all around the room until it has picked up every available hair or piece of dirt. She has a yellow lab that sheds constantly, too. Just a thought!!

    • March 3, 2011 11:21 pm

      A robot vacuum would be nice, but I think after one day Camelot would destroy it. It’s a nice thought though! Maybe when they invent an invisible one I could use it! 🙂

  2. Aunt Sally permalink
    March 4, 2011 4:14 am

    I SO hear you re sweeping up all of the hair; but, for me, it’s the dogs demanding snacks to get out of your way. Then, there’re the pesky cats, just relishing in rolling in the hair. At least Jaba, the toad, does not add to the insanity … ahhhhh

    • Aunt Sally permalink
      March 4, 2011 4:23 am

      Regarding the above note: ‘re’, after I SO hear you, means regarding. I forget to switch geers from legal shortcuts. Not everyone picks up on it.

    • March 4, 2011 11:25 am

      Ah yes, the joys of owning pets! And I understood the “re’. 🙂 Thanks for commenting on my post!

  3. March 7, 2011 1:27 pm

    Ha ha! We get tumbleweed as well. Well, my son calls them dust monsters, but tumbleweed sounds much MUCH nicer, lol.

Leave a Reply

